NaPoWriMo 2016: Day 1

It is the first day of NaPoWriMo! I used a prompt from The Found Poetry Review for today’s prose poem: Impromptu #1: Patrick Williams.

While not a bankruptcy situation, the word bankruptcy does take me back to my tenth year. My parents were trying to buy a house! Now I loved the rental that we lived in, but I understood, even at that age, that owning a home meant that your family had more money than families that rented. And I also knew that the neighborhood we would move to was much nicer and better appreciated by society than the quaint, but old, neighborhood in which I resided at that time. So I was excited. My parents enrolled me in the seller’s macrame class – I have never understood why. I was so shy. Uncomfortable. In a group of middle-aged women, tying rope. My parents did not get the bank loan for the house. There was one more macrame class. I was embarrassed.

Leave a Reply

