31 Simple Pleasures

Prompt 95 at Creative Writing Prompts is to list 31 simple pleasures. It goes on to suggest writing about each pleasure, but I shall stay with the list alone. These are by no means in order of preference or importance! πŸ˜€

1. wading in a body of water

2. a cup of hot tea with honey

3. the smell of lilacs

4. the roar of a lion (there’s a vocal lion at the lincoln park zoo)

5. spooning with the one you love

6. holding your grandchild

7. reading a beautiful poem

8. reciting a beautiful poem

9. browsing a thrift store

10. having your hand licked by a cat

11. lying in the sun

12. kissing in the rain

13. chocolate cake

14. playing the piano

15. chopin

16. a chamber music concert

17. exploring cemeteries

18. picnics

19. neck nibbles from the one you love

20. visiting a botanical garden

21. collecting small stones (written and literal)

22. margaritas with friends

23. ponytails

24. sundresses

25. a pair of earrings that looks great with blue jeans/t-shirt AND a little black dress

26. painted toenails

27. lemonade

28. looking through family albums

29. decorating with treasures made by your children when they were small

30. watering your houseplants

31. collecting (anything. i collect cat figurines.)

What are some of your simple pleasures?

4 thoughts on “31 Simple Pleasures

  1. That is a perfect list but for two-I have never recited a beautiful poem and I do not play the piano- but I enjoy both when someone else does.

  2. Hi Susan! I really enjoyed this list of simple pleasures! πŸ™‚ Made me smile just reading it. Hmm, I might just make my own simple list of pleasures too! πŸ™‚

    Also, thank you so much for visiting my Origami Lotus Stones blog (small stones blog). πŸ™‚ I’m so glad you enjoyed my poem, “Becoming a Rabbit.” I do agree in that it will be fun to see what else the rabbit does and feels. πŸ™‚ Thank you for the idea!

Leave a Reply

